The Sleep Research Society is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017 Outstanding Early Investigator Award.

This award recognizes an outstanding research effort by an early-stage investigator in the field of sleep research. The basis for the evaluation of a candidate is a single peer-reviewed publication supported by a senior investigator’s letter of recommendation. The candidate must be the first author, and the article must have been published or been accepted for publication in 2016.

Ada Eban-Rothschild, PhD
VTA dopaminergic neurons regulate ethologically relevant sleep-wake Behaviors” published in Nature Neuroscience

Keith Hengen PhD
Neuronal Firing Rate Homeostasis Is Inhibited by Sleep and Promoted by Wake” published in Cell


Honorable Mentions

Jason Gerstner, PhD
Normal sleep requires the astrocyte brain-type fatty acid binding protein FABP7” published in Science Advances

Jennifer C. Tudor, PhD
Sleep deprivation impairs memory by attenuating mTORC1-dependent protein synthesis” published in Science Signaling

Shirley Xin Li, PhD, DClinPsy 
Sleep Disturbances and Suicide Risk in an 8-Year Longitudinal Study of Schizophrenia-Spectrum Disorders” published in SLEEP