Public Service Award

The SRS Public Service Award is presented to one or more individuals who have significantly advanced the mission of the SRS outside of their scientific and educational contributions. Service as an Officer or Director of the SRS Board is neither necessary nor sufficient for this award.

Selection criteria generally include:

  • Public relations and advocacy efforts
  • Developing and sustaining relationships with critical government agencies and lawmakers
  • Public policy efforts

Please address questions to the SRS Coordinator, at Nominations for 2023 awards are open from September 1, 2022 through October 23, 2022.

Nomination Form

2022 Recipient

Terra Ziporyn Snider, PhD
Terra Ziporyn Snider, PhD

“I am delighted and honored to be accepting the Sleep Research Society’s 2022 Public Service Award. This kind of recognition feels almost surreal, especially when I remember that Start School Later started around a literal kitchen table just over 10 years ago. Running schools at times that give students a chance to get healthy sleep should be a no brainer given the large, broad, and consistent body of sleep research supporting it. But painful experience has taught us that turning established sleep science into school policy can be a battlefield, one where we often feel like David battling Goliath whether we’re talking to local school boards or sitting down with federal agencies. This award and the recognition it represents is a tremendous morale boost. In addition, by further connecting our education and advocacy efforts to the sleep research community, it is invaluable to our mission, which includes creating a culture of healthy sleep. The mission to build this culture—one in which communities understand and value sleep health as a fundamental human need—is one I believe we all share, and one we are much more likely to achieve by working together. This award fills me with hope about future collaborative efforts, and that leaves me both deeply grateful and excited about how much we can accomplish together in the years to come.”

Past Recipients

2021 – James K, Walsh, PhD