Outstanding Scientific Achievement Award

The Outstanding Scientific Achievement Award is presented to an individual(s) to recognize a specific, novel, and seminal research discovery that has significantly impacted the sleep and circadian research field.  This award honors a single scientist or up to three members of a scientific team most responsible for the design, conduct, and publication of the work.

Selection criteria generally include:

  • A specific major contribution that has been presented in either a single publication or multiple related publications
  • Scientific advances recognized by this award may be basic, translational, clinical, or theoretical in nature.

Nominate Today

Nomination Deadline: October 15, 2023

Please address questions to the SRS Coordinator, at coordinator@srsnet.org.

2023 Recipient

Joseph T. Bass, MD, PhD
Joseph T. Bass, MD, PhD

“I am sincerely honored to accept this award and wish to acknowledge the contributions of many trainees and colleagues who have participated in uncovering links between sleep, circadian rhythms and metabolism. Our work was also made possible through the key support of Northwestern University and the NIH for fostering an interdisciplinary environment fundamental to the development of our field. I thank the members of the Sleep Research Society for expanding beyond the boundaries between sleep and metabolic research.”

Past Recipients

2022 – Maiken Nedergaard, MD, DMSc
2021 – Colin E. Sullivan, PhD
2020 – Richard P. Allen, PhD
2019 – Frank A. J. L. Scheer, PhD; Steven A. Shea, PhD
2018 – Chiara Cirelli, MD, PhD
2017 – Niels C. Rattenborg, PhD
2016 – Luis de Lecea, PhD
2015 – Arthur J. Spielman, PhD
2014 – David Holtzman, MD
2013 – Amita Sehgal, PhD
2012 – Joseph Takahashi, PhD
2011 – Terry B. Young, PhD
2010 – Mark Mahowald, MD; Carlos Schenck, MD
2009 – David B. Rye, MD, PhD; Juliane Winkelmann, MD
2008 – Robert Y. Moore, MD, PhD; Friedrich K. Stephen, PhD; Irving Zucker, PhD
2007 – Eve Van Cauter, PhD
2006 – Emmanuel Mignot, MD, PhD; Masashi Yanagisawa, MD, PhD