Mary A. Carskadon Outstanding Educator Award

The Mary A. Carskadon Outstanding Educator Award honors excellence in education in sleep and circadian research. This award honors an individual for their contributions to training sleep and circadian professionals and/or educating the general public.

Selection criteria focus on educational contributions that may include:

  • Disseminating the knowledge base and research methods of the sleep and circadian field
  • Increasing awareness of the health and safety significance of the sleep and circadian field.
  • Teaching, mentoring, course development, educational publications (including textbooks, popular press books, or popular press articles), presentations (including mass media presentations), and/or outreach activities.

Please address questions to the SRS Coordinator, at Nominations for 2023 awards are now closed.

2023 Recipient

Jacques Montplaisir, MD, PhD, FRCP
Jacques Montplaisir, MD, PhD, FRCP

Past Recipients

2022 – Kenneth P. Wright, Jr., PhD
2021 – Girardin Jean-Louis, PhD
2020 – Allan I. Pack, MBChB, PhD
2019 – Martica Hall, PhD
2018 – Sharon A. Keenan, REEGT, RPSGT, PhD, DABSM
2017 – Colin A. Espie, PhD, DSc
2016 – Jodi A. Mindell, PhD
2015 – Daniel J. Buysse, PhD
2014 – Michael Chase, PhD
2013 – Meir Kryger, MD, FRCPC and Robert W. McCarley, MD
2012 – Thomas Roth, PhD
2011 – Charles Czeisler, MD, PhD
2010 – Allan Rechtschaffen, PhD
2009 – David F. Dinges, PhD
2008 – Richard Bootzin, PhD
2007 – Sonia Ancoli-Israel, PhD
2006 – William Dement, MD, PhD
2005 – Mary Carskadon, PhD