Annual Membership Meeting

On Wednesday, June 16 via Zoom, Drs. Craig Heller, SRS President, Kristen Knutson, SRSF President and Sara Aton, Secretary/Treasurer presented the 2021 Annual Membership Report. A recording of the meeting will be available soon.

SRS Club Hypnos & Datablitz Competition

Club Hypnos took place on Wednesday, June 9, via Zoom. The event opened with remarks from SRS and SRSF Presidents Drs. Craig Heller and Kristen Knutson and Secretary/Treasurer, Dr. Sara Aton. Past Career Development Award winners Drs. Annemarie I. Luik and Huan Yang, shared updates on their work with two minute datablitz presentations. Participants were then broken up into breakout rooms to compete in a virtual trivia competition. The event concluded with the long awaited Datablitz Competition. Congratulations to the Club Hypnos Cup winners – Jesse Cook, Brant Hasler, Lisa Meltzer, and Megan Petrov from the Clinical group.

Trainee Symposia Series

The Trainee Symposia Series kicked off on Monday, May 24 and concluded Friday, May 28. The symposia included 27 one-hour sessions presented by 61 speakers to over 274 attendees. The session recordings will be available to SRS Trainee Members on the SRS Website.

Inclusion Leadership Workshop

The SRS Inclusive Leadership Workshop took place on Tuesday, June 8 and Friday, June 11. Workshop leaders worked with 16 attendees to discuss how race and cultural experiences influence worldview and leadership, among other topics.

APSS announces inaugural Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Leadership Award recipient

Sleep medicine physician and sleep researcher Dr. Charlene Gamaldo of Johns Hopkins Medicine is the recipient of the inaugural Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Leadership Award from the Associated Professional Sleep Societies, LLC, a joint initiative of the American Academy of Sleep Medicine and the Sleep Research Society. Read More.

SRS Awards Presentation

Dr. H. Craig Heller, SRS President, presented the 2021 SRS Awards during the plenary session at Virtual SLEEP 2021. Congratulations again to our award recipients!

Allison G. Harvey, PhD, CBSM, DBSM
Distinguished Scientist Award

Colin E. Sullivan, PhD
Outstanding Scientific Achievement Award

Girardin Jean-Louis, PhD
Mary A. Carskadon Outstanding Educator Award

James K. Walsh, PhD
Public Service Award