SRS Club Hypnos & Datablitz Competition

Club Hypnos took place on Wednesday, August 26, via Zoom. The event opened with remarks from SRS and SRSF Presidents Drs. Craig Heller and Kristen Knutson. Past Career Development Award winners, Drs. Saurabh Thosar and Ariel Williamson shared updates on their work with two minute datablitz presentations. Dr. Sean Drummond also discussed the history of Trainee Day in honor of the 25th anniversary! Participants were then broken up into breakout rooms to compete in a virtual trivia competition. The event concluded with the long awaited Datablitz Competition. Congratulations to the Club Hypnos Cup winners – the Translational team: Drs. Amy Bender, Yue Leng, Peng Li, and Megan Petrov!

25th Anniversary of Trainee Sypmosia Series

The 25th annual Trainee Symposia Series kicked off on Monday, August 2 and concluded Friday, August 14. The symposia included 28 one-hour sessions presented by 60 speakers to over 135 attendees. The session recordings will be available to SRS Trainee Members on the SRS Website in mid-September.

Grant Writing Workshop

The SRS Grant Writing Workshop took place on Wednesday, August 26 and Wednesday, September 2. Workshop leaders worked with 16 attendees to discuss their aims pages in small group settings to help early career researchers become grant writing pros.

SRS Awards Presentation

Dr. Andrew Krystal, SRS Immediate Past President, presented the 2020 SRS Awards during the plenary session at Virtual SLEEP 2020. Congratulations again to our award recipients!

Phyllis Zee, MD, PhD
Distinguished Scientist Award

Richard Allen, PhD
Outstanding Scientific Achievement Award

Allan Pack, PhD
Mary A. Carskadon Outstanding Educator Award