Past Presidents 2018-07-10T10:01:37+00:00

Past Presidents

Since the founding of the Association for the Psychophysiological Study of Sleep, many diverse individuals have held the position that is now the president of the Sleep Research Society. Since 1991, SRS presidents have served a one-year term.

Name Term
Joe Kamiya, PhD (Secretary/Treasurer) 1962-1966
Charles Fisher, MD (Coordinating Secretary)
David Foulkes, PhD (Executive Secretary)
Anthony Kales, MD (Coodinating Secretary)
G. Vernon Pegram, PhD (Executive Secretary)
Roger Broughton, MD, PhD (Coordinating Secretary)
Robert N. Emde, MD (Executive Secretary)
John Karacan (Coordinating Secretary)
Elliot D. Weitzman, MD (Executive Secretary)
Allan Rechtschaffen, PhD (Coordinating Secretary)
Thomas Roth, PhD (Executive Secretary)
Gerald Vogel, MD (Coordinating Secretary)
Peter Hauri (Executive Secretary)
Howard P. Roffwarg, MD 1985-1987
Michael H. Chase, PhD 1988-1990
Robert W. McCarley, MD 1991-1992
Ronald M. Harper, PhD 1992-1993
Jerome Siegel, PhD 1993-1994
Thomas Roth, PhD 1994-1995
Adrian R. Morrison, PhD, DVM 1995-1996
J. Christian Gillin, MD 1996-1997
Wallace B. Mendelson, MD 1997-1998
Timothy A. Roehrs, PhD 1998-1999
Mary A. Carskadon, PhD 1999-2000
Ralph Lydic, PhD 2000-2001
David F. Dinges, PhD 2001-2002
Ruth M. Benca, MD, PhD 2002-2003
Emmanuel Mignot, MD, PhD 2003-2004
Sonia Ancoli-Israel, PhD 2004-2005
Charles A. Czeisler, PhD, MD 2005-2006
Mark R. Opp, PhD 2006-2007
Eric A. Nofzinger, MD 2007-2008
Michael V. Vitiello, PhD 2008-2009
Clifford B. Saper, MD, PhD 2009-2010
James K. Walsh, PhD 2010-2011
Phyllis C. Zee, PhD 2011-2012
Ronald S. Szymusiak, PhD 2012-2013
Janet M. Mullington, PhD 2013-2014
Allan I. Pack, MBChB, PhD 2014-2016
Sean P.A. Drummond, PhD 2016-2018